Make a blog

alileake56

1 year ago

Examining Drug Charges With Unconstitutional Defense Attorneys

In Colorado, marijuana charges have receives a drastic makeover. The drug is legal in quantities of one ounce or less. These new laws allow the cultivation of the plant as long as the individual doesnt possess more than three plants. However, larger quantities as well as the sale or distribution remains a crime in the state. lawyers help individuals facing these crimes.

Reviewing Marijuana Possession Charges and Penalties

Colorado laws apply charges starting with the possession of two ounces. This charge equates to a $100 fine. Any public display of these quantity incurs additional $100 fine. These infractions are petty offenses and wont harm the individuals record. However, they should hire a criminal defense attorney.

Possession of quantities that are between two and six ounces is a misdemeanor. The maximum fine is $700. The defendant spends up to one year in jail.

Possession of between six and twelve ounces is a misdemeanor. The maximum fine is $5,000. The defendant faces up to eighteen months in jail. The law recognizes any quantity of at least eight ounces as possession and intent to distribute or sale.

Possession that is beyond twelve ounces is a felony infraction. It incurs a maximum fine of $100,000. The prison sentence ranges up to two years.

Penalties for Drug Sale or Distribution

The sale or distribution of quantities four ounces or lower is a misdemeanor. The accused faces up to eighteen months in jail. The maximum fine is $5,000.

Quantities that are no less then four ounces and no more than twelve are a felony. The defendant faces up to two years in prison. The fine ranges up to $100,000.

The sale of twelve ounces to five pounds is a felony charge. It incurs a sentence of up to six years in prison. The fine ranges up to $500,000.

Quantities ranging from five to fifty pounds is a felony drug sale charge. It incurs a prison sentence of sixteen years. The maximum fine is $750,000.

The sale of any quantity exceeding fifty pounds incurs a prison sentence of up to thirty-two years. The maximum fine is $1,000,000. All sales and distribution charges are based on adult infractions. There is a zero tolerance law for any individual under the age of twenty-one.

The Colorado drug laws have changed. These modification have decriminalized possession and use of marijuana. However, the state restricts the quantity allowed at any given time. Individuals who exceed these guidelines incur criminal penalties. Defendants who need assistance with these infractions or civil law cases should contact Rogers and Moss today.